Tags

, , , ,

I still can’t believe I’m about to do this! The first of November is Sunday. I feel strong going into this, but whoa! This will certainly be a new experience for me and I’m looking forward to it. But every time I think about that word count goal . . .

I’ve spent the last several days getting ready for the big NaNoWriMo event in hopes that a little prep will go a long way toward meeting my goal.

IMG_2808Feeling the Energy As the weather begins to cool here in sunny Florida, I’m revamping a space in my garage (don’t mind the dead plant) because that’s where I’m feeling the most creative these days. I love doing household projects and crafts in this space, but it wasn’t until recently that I actually tried writing in it. Boy did the juices start flowing. I’ve determined that this is where I seem to be most inspired and this will definitely be my “go-to” studio through the month of November, and possibly beyond.

Author Head Spaces Attending local writing events and workshops is always a great way to get your head in gear for writing. I attended a NaNoWriMo panel that really lit a fire under me, not just for November, but in general. I can’t stress enough how being around other writers is always refreshing and inspirational.

I also tuned into an authors panel via Spreecast. This was just as inspiring as the live panel and though I wasn’t able to attend the live event, I love that I could at least replay the panel from the comforts of my home at a time that was suitable for my schedule. The bonus was getting additional tips to help me throughout my writing career.

The Work I narrowed my novel ideas down to two concepts and just decided whichIMG_2813 one I’m going to run with for my first NaNoWriMo. This will be a case of starting from scratch and rewriting that novel that’s just been collecting dust for over a year now. One thing I’ve learned from attending writing events is – sometimes you just have to start over. The work isn’t going anywhere because I’m just not passionate enough about it. So, regardless of how much I’ve already put on paper, this is a must-do-redo and I’m ready. I’ve revised my characters to include more in depth character sketches, thought out the worlds in which my characters will live and interact, and have a general idea of where I want the story to go. I think I was missing some of these elements before, but the gaps are filled in, and there’s nowhere to go but through the pages.

The Distraction Plan I am prepared for that pesky Something Shiny Syndrome to rear it’s ugly head and keep me from meeting my daily writing goals. But not to worry. I’m prepared with a plan to write that incorporates all those planned and unplanned distractions – that holiday road trip, field trips and events at the kids’ schools, neighborhood events and functions, even running low on my caffeine supply and budget. Whatever the distraction, I’m ready to write – in the car, before the field trips and events, and during the kids’ practices. And just in case my caffeine stash and/or budget runs low, those quarters and nickels I’ve been dropping in old jars for years are ready for me to take to the conversion machine at the nearest supermarket so I can turn my coins into cash and restock and reload. No excuses people!

Within Reach IMG_2811Things I’m prepared to have within reach while writing this new novel: CHOCOLATE! Coffee, tea, or my favorite dark soda (pop for my northern folks); My favorite cheddar popcorn (I have to have this stuff); CHOCOLATE; A quick meat source for protein (peanut butter doesn’t always do it for me); paper and pens; any type of mobile device; and last but not least… did I mention CHOCOLATE? (Okay, I admit this is the candy we’re supposed to be passing out for Halloween, but they don’t need all those cavities anyway…right?)

Well, hopefully I can secure an emergency chocolate stash after Halloween. I’m sure the kids won’t mind.

There you have it. This novel is getting done! It has to. Wish me luck. If you don’t hear from me in November, hopefully it just means I’m lost in a good book – my own. Happy writing and write on!

