Tags

, , , , ,

Two years ago I shared a post by Rita Hubbard titled Practicing That Pitch. Now at that time it was very early in this process for me and it sounded like really good advice to share. But I didn’t really have a full understanding of how relevant that advice was for me. As I struggle with working out digital errors for uploading my manuscript to my print-on-demand (POD) service, the meaning and significance of practicing that pitch couldn’t be more clear or more relevant than it is now.

I recently found myself in a conversation that made me realize I was not ready to pitch my book to anyone. Yes, I know what the book is about – I wrote it! I know what I would like to see happen with the book, but that doesn’t necessarily translate into readiness to sell the book to others. When the questions were unexpectedly sprung on me in mid-conversation, I stammered, and for a moment was like a deer caught in the headlights. I eventually worked my way through it (very choppy I might add), but it was evident that I need to practice pitching my book. I was caught off guard. But the truth is, you will never know when you’ll be in a position to sell your book. So it’s best to just be prepared!

So, here are a few links that may be helpful as you prepare to pitch your own book. Also, reread the post I shared by Rita Hubbard: Practice That Pitch

How to Pitch Your Book at a Writing Conference by Cynthia P. Gallagher

Getting Your Pitch Right posted by Writers Conference Guidelines

Creating an Irresistible Elevator Pitch by Graeme Shimmin

Feel free to share your thoughts on pitching your title(s). Good luck and write on!

