Tags

, , , , ,

IMG_0921I started the revisions on my current manuscript. I knew this would be a tedious process, but I wasn’t quite prepared for just how tedious it would be. Already I’ve discovered voice jumping, lack of scene flow, and inconsistencies in character development. It’s interesting how these things are jumping right off of the page at me. I’m not so sure how clear these inconsistencies would be had I dove right into revising immediately after completing the manuscript. It is clear I have my work cut out for me.

There is a bright side to all of this. Though the tedious task it is, revising has packed a few pleasant surprises. For instance, I’m actually enjoying reading through this particular work. Despite its flaws, it has been fun seeing the story itself come together. The challenge of making it cohesive and fully developing my characters can keep me occupied for hours in an exciting way.

Also, revising helps me see myself as the writer I am. Seeing the good, the bad, and the ugly helps me understand what kind of writer I am shaping up to be. It may not be fun having my flaws glaring off of the pages. However, I can’t help but think that being able to identify those flaws and face them head-on will only help me develop my craft. That’s a good thing right?

Any thoughts on this? Have you hit the revision stage of a larger work? What’s been your experience with the revision process? Feel free to share in the comments below.

Back to work I go. In the mean time write on!

