SighIt’s no secret I’ve been struggling these past few months getting through the project I’ve been working on over the past year. It’s a young readers chapter book. I got to page 150 and struggled and struggled just to get to 159. I know, I know, that’s a HOT mess! But – it is what it is.

Here’s the point: I keep forcing myself to sit down and push through it, no matter how grueling the process or how terrible I think the writing is, I think it’s more important to finish. I’m at my desk, forcing some form of creativity out. I reread the last couple pages to help me keep the action going when right at that moment – 159 pages into the book – right when I’m supposed to be preparing to wrap it all up – I get an idea for a series for this book! But not the kind of idea I can say, Oh yeah! That’s good stuff. I’ll just keep the story going or tell a new story in the next book. I mean, back to the drawing board kind of stuff. WHAT THE FLIP?!?! Now my brain decides to come up with this? Tell me somebody out there has a better idea. This was not supposed to be a two year project.

(Sigh) Now that that’s off my chest. . . excuse me while I go revise my project plan. . . Write on!

