Tags

, , , , , , ,

On the road to Georgia Photo by C. M. Ruffin

On the road to Georgia
Photo by C. M. Ruffin

After being in such a writer’s funk for several weeks, what would inspire me to suddenly push myself to get back to where I need to be? Well, for starters, even though I feel as though I haven’t been very productive, the truth is I at least have one of the books in the illustration process. So that one’s progressing just fine. But I still should’ve been creating during that time. I won’t bore you with all the details of why not, but I will share what motivated me to snap out of it.

VACATION! That’s right. Vacation. My family went on a road trip and all of a sudden the dam broke and the creativity poured out of me. Lucky for me, I had my Idea Book with me to capture it all. There is something to be said about traveling. The peace and tranquility of being on the road and taking in the sites is totally refreshing. Sometimes it’s just necessary to getaway. I don’t know about you, but most of the time I don’t necessarily know that I need a break. But I am always reminded of just how necessary it is when I do it.

We didn’t do anything big like explore the Grand Canyon, but we just took a few days to go visit and celebrate a special occasion with family. And that’s all it took. It was just what I needed. The kids had fun with their cousins, we had fun with the family (and each other), and the Old Folks (that’s what my son calls our family seniors;)) had a good time reminiscing with one another as they reflected on raising us while watching their grandchildren play.

It feels good to be back. I could easily say I’ll never stray again, but I know it’s inevitable. I just have to make the most of this time while it’s still good. The key is not to beat myself up about it. I’m just pushing on. Yes, it can be discouraging. But one thing about vacation. . . it reminds me that life is too short to dwell on the why nots, what ifs, and oh if only I hads. I’m learning to appreciate all that’s around me; to slow down and take it in; and value what I’ve done right while looking forward to all that I strive to do.

If you’re stuck, step back and take a breath. A change of scenery can be great therapy. Happy summer and write on!

