Tags

, , , , , ,

Hey Newbies. In case you were wondering about how the illustration process works, I’ll be posting my progress to help give you some insight and hopefully encourage you to move forward with your next steps. Keep in mind I am working with a professional illustrator, so some things may vary depending on the route you choose for illustrating your books.

Already I see a difference in the illustration process from working with my illustrator. After getting some background information from me to give him an idea of my vision for the book, he went through my story and commented on each page. Basically, the illustrator comments are where the illustrator provides his/her concept for the drawings in text form. Each comment describes how each picture will look. This is prior to drawing ANY images. Again, at this point, everything is in text form. He also did a page layout for the book. Now many self-publishers do this themselves to cut costs. However, I don’t yet have the software to be able to complete this portion on my own. Eventually I will invest in the software. For now, it was more beneficial to have him do it in order to move things along. Do what works best for you within your budget.

I reviewed each of his comments and made notes. This process took us about a week and-a-half. It may be longer or shorter for you depending on the length of your book, your style, and the complexity of the illustrations. Now that we’ve come to an agreement on each of the pages, the sketching begins.

The sketching process is a lot longer which is why the illustrator’s checklist is necessary. (Keep in mind, my illustrator is also a project manager so this portion of the process may vary for you). You see, the checklist provides me with responsibilities to fulfill as the author, while he works on the images. Some of these responsibilities include ordering the ISBN numbers, providing a company logo to be printed on and in the book, obtaining copyrights, etc., etc., etc. These are all things I knew had to get done, but I was fuzzy about when to do them. The checklist helps me see clearly. And since I suffer from Ooo! Something Shiny Syndrome, it is pertinent I have the checklist to keep me focused on the task at hand.

In sum, I am focusing on the items in my checklist and the illustrations are being sketched, so the ball is in my court to keep things moving along. It feels good to have a sense of direction which is why having his guidance provides peace-of-mind for me.

Continue to look for updates on this process and don’t be discouraged. Jump in and get on with the next steps in your self-publishing journey. Don’t be afraid to network and talk with others. Ask questions and get the information you need to move forward. It can only help you. I feel as if this is taking longer than it should for me to get to the finish line, but hey, at least I’m getting there. Don’t be discouraged.

Stay tuned and write on!

