ScheduleI don’t make New Year’s resolutions. Making a New Year’s Resolution is a green light for me not to do something. It does absolutely nothing for my ability to set goals and meet them. This year was no different. I stuck to my guns and did not make a resolution. I have however, made a commitment to myself for a life change this year. I have committed to having a backup plan; a contingency plan; a plan B for everything I do. Yes, this is different from making a resolution because my mind needs to believe that it is:).

You see, one thing I know about myself is that I’m easily distracted. A dear friend of mine calls it “The Oooo Something Shiny!” syndrome. I suffer from Something Shiny syndrome. I realized, one of the reasons I suffer from this disorder is I never have a contingency plan. I’ve blogged about scheduling conflicts disrupting the flow of day-to-day responsibilities and the importance of being organized. In keeping with this idea of staying organized and on task, I intend to have a contingency plan for everything so I will know what to do and fall back on when things don’t go according to plan. Now I’m speaking very generally here. I’m not going to be anal about this thing. I just want to have a guide to remind me what I could accomplish despite not being able to get the initial task completed.

For example, I have a working schedule for my writing. But if the school calls for me to come pick up one of the kids because they’ve gotten ill, I have to drop everything and assume my role as a mom. This can disrupt the flow of things, which means falling behind in my role as a writer. However, if I already have a Plan B in place in the event that happens, I can still be productive despite the change in schedule. Currently I write every Monday from 9:00 AM – 12:00 PM. If the school calls, I could already have it worked into my schedule to write from 6:00 PM-8:00 PM as an alternative. I look at it as a built-in snow day. School systems build makeup days into the school calendar in the event of inclement weather. Well, that’s all I’m doing. I’m just doing it for everything. Plan B goes into affect for novel writing, picture book writing, house cleaning, dinner preparation, and even working out (because I always find a reason not to do that).

This is the commitment I’ve made to myself. I have already implemented this plan, and I must say it’s pretty effective. The backup plan is working well for me. In fact, I’m using it right now! For those of you who are easily distracted or thrown off by schedule disruptions, give it shot. Leave a comment and let me know how it goes.

Write on!

