Your space can be as simple or elaborate as you like. It’s all about working with what you have and being comfortable. In my opinion, the simpler the better. You’ve seen my work space. Here are a few ideas of things you can do to create that perfect writing space for yourself.

Closet office spaces seem to be very popular. Since we don’t have extra rooms in my own home to furnish a home office, we are choosing to convert one of our closets into a home office space. I haven’t decided yet if I will use it much for my writing, but it’s certainly a contender.

small office

Your creative space can be very simple. I believe writing is an intimate art form. I prefer cozy writing spaces that are not full of clutter. However, if you are one that works well in the midst of chaos and clutter, then go for it. Either way, you really just need a surface and some place to sit to get the job done. Keep it simple.

This is just cute

I am a huge fan of using sheds as office/creative spaces. My long term goal is to build one for myself. I even purchased a book about sheds titled Shed Chic by Sally Coulthard. Here are a few shed ideas to inspire you.

Shed 2

Shed 3


For those of you still trying to create that perfect space for inspirational writing, these images should be enough to get you started.

