Tags

, , , , ,

Along with revamping my schedule I’m beginning to understand the necessity of having a timeline. I am and always have been completely intimidated by having to be organized. I’m organized by my standards, but it’s completely different when your effectiveness (or lack thereof) affects other people and your output. In this case, I’m the only one affected but, my output suffers tremendously. This is detrimental to the self-starter.

Therefore, while revamping my daily schedule, I actually started putting together a project timeline. For us newbies, this process easily becomes overwhelming. I can read different books and blogs all day about the dos and don’ts of writing and successfully publishing. (Visit me on FaceBook for a great link by Russell Blake about selling lots of books and becoming a successful writer  at https://www.facebook.com/CreatingCane?ref=hl). Sometimes, however, that information just doesn’t sink in until I actually cross that bridge in the process.

I see that developing a timeline helps me keep my short term and long term projects focused and on schedule. I can easily see the fruits of my labor. Additionally, I think this will help relieve some of the stress of being overwhelmed. I’m often overwhelmed when I feel as if I’m falling behind or something didn’t get done yesterday that needed to be done, blah-blah-blah. This is a job and as I’ve said before, it needs to be treated as such. Just as deadlines, timelines, and responsibilities are eminent when working for someone else, I have to have the same criteria for writing. The difference is, I’m the boss. So when I don’t get things done on schedule no one is at fault but me and I simply can’t stomach that reality.

I’m only in the beginning stages of laying out my timeline, but I feel better already knowing that I’m on the right track. In don’t worry, in case you’re wondering, yes I’ve set a deadline for completing the timeline layout and it’s within the next two days. I will take it in stages with completing the book first, then expand it to include deadlines for editing, revisions, etc. In my case, I’m also working on picture books so my timeline incorporates working on illustrations, editing the picture book manuscripts, and completing the chapter book manuscript. It sounds like a lot, but this is what I signed up for so I have to make it happen.

I’m remaining flexible and pushing forward and through it all I continue to write on! 

