Tags

, , ,

I have been putting this off for quite some time. I’m going to join one of the local writing organizations. I have procrastinated and made excuses long enough. The bottom line is, I’ve allowed fear to keep me from taking those next steps. Since I have had so much time to reflect, I feel a renewed since of purpose and responsibility in being a writer. I have a responsibility to myself, my family, and all of my former and future students. So, the only thing to do is to do it!

With that being said, I’ll be registering this week. Because this self publishing/writing process can seem pretty lonely at times, I want to surround myself with other like-minded individuals who are either going through the same process, have gone through it, or have an interest in it. Having fellow writers to bounce ideas off of, share my work with, and advise me will provide me with a level of support that can’t be had trying to go it alone.

It seems to me, that the benefit of being a member of an organization would keep me in the loop with local events such as author signings, speaks, workshops, and conferences. Part of the fear of moving forward is not having enough confidence in my talent. Getting feedback from others in the field will aide in building that confidence. I think as newbies we’re really good at selling ourselves short and self-doubt is a set-back I can no longer afford. Despite my apprehensions, I’m declaring victory over my fears and moving on to the next step.

Research organizations in your area and gain the support you need to continue your journey successfully.

Write on!

