As the end of summer approaches, I’m reminded of all the things I haven’t done that I just couldn’t wait until summer arrived so I could get them all done. I waste so much time not making time for the things I need more time to do (if that makes any sense). I’m declaring an early new year’s resolution for myself. From this day forward, I will not waste time wasting time. I’ve gotten on my children and my students repeatedly about what they could be doing instead of the nothing they’re actually doing at the moment. And like every parent, every teacher, I huff and roll my eyes as I mumble (loud enough so the kids can hear my annoyance), “How many times do I have to repeat the same thing over and over again?” Then it dawned on me, they waste time, because that’s what they see me doing – starting 10 things and finishing none; distracted by a shiny thing rather than focusing on the bobble in front of me. Well, I’m officially putting those days to rest. This is the new and improved me. But please accept my disclaimer that change doesn’t happen overnight. Now that that’s out of the way, I refuse to waste the rest of my summer days. I can have my cake and eat it too. Bring on the schedules, checklists, and the will to stick to it because I’m taking no prisoners. . . Now what was it I was about to do again. . . ?

Fellow artists, make a plan, stick to that plan, and get your works to completion; balance your other priorities; and still have fun. It can all be done. At the end of the day, reflect on how you spent your time. Could you have worked on your book instead of watching a movie? Prepared meals for the week instead of gaming? Played a game with the kids instead of piddling around in a room not really accomplishing anything? If you reflect on your day and you can’t really explain what you accomplished that day, then you are wasting time. Accept it, deal with it, and move on. Tomorrow’s a new day. I’ve already established the importance of making time for your craft. It can be done. You just have to be willing to give up your dead time to do it.

Be productive and write on!

