So I’m at a lull in the process right now. It’s simply a waiting game. I’m reviewing paperwork from my editor, having to snail-mail the payment, it will be a couple of weeks before my work comes up in the rotation, and frankly, there’s nothing to share when it comes to the process right now. It’s a dead zone. So, rather than share nothing at all, I choose to share a random thought.

I LOVE Queen Latifah! I’ve been a fan since she first hit the scene as a rap-artist. Now I own almost all of her movies. One of my favorites is Last Holiday which co-stars L.L. Cool J. If you’re not familiar with the movie, the gist of it is a woman lives a very sedentary, mundane, routine life. She finds out she has a short time to live and decides to live the rest of her days to the fullest. So the story takes you through her fulfilling her wildest dreams (PG-13 dreams people).

Anyway, I was thinking about watching it on Netflix (again) and I started thinking about the overall message of the movie. I think it’s pretty obvious and predictable, but yet so meaningful.

This is the only chance you get at life. What are you going to do with it? Or If you had a second chance to do the things you always wanted to do, what would you do differently?

We tend to get so caught up in our lives that we forget about what really matters. We forget about our dreams, our aspirations. Some of us focus on our past, especially if it’s a dark one, and we let that keep us from pursuing our true destiny. Life takes us down unexpected paths and we find ourselves feeling as if our dreams are forever lost.

I’ve never been that person. Don’t get me wrong, I often start off that way. I come up with every excuse not to do something I really want to do. The truth is I’m just scared. So eventually, after wasting time being afraid of the what ifs, I eventually go for it – whatever it may be. I believe that’s the case for most people. People are just scared; afraid of failing; afraid of success. A long time ago an old friend told me to always surround myself with positive people. I have tried to live my life with that in mind daily. Since the day I began to focus on being around positive people, the pursuit of happiness became so much easier to obtain. I’ve been able to pursue my dreams, not because I’m lucky, but because when I get down on myself and begin to stand in the way of myself, I have my positive family and friends to push me, pull me, and encourage me to do it.

I guess the point is, it’s time to stop standing in the way of your own destiny. So many are knowing what they want out of life, but are just too afraid of what could happen. Surround yourself with positive influences and find a way to get the most out of life. I don’t want to look back five years from now and wonder what would have happened if I had tried to become an author. Folks, I’m about to find out. I’ll either make it or I won’t . . . But at least I’ll know, right? When you look back five years from now, what positive change will you have made toward your destiny?

